Grit

Grit

Over time, grit is what separates fruitful lives from aimlessness.

John Ortberg

Grit is defined by Angela Duckworth as the tendency to sustain interest in and effort toward very long-term goals.  As such, I don’t have a lot of grit.

On a grit scale of 1 (no grit) to 10 (the grittiest), I operate most days between 1 and 5.

My daughter absolutely loves her Grit class at the gym.  The website description includes these phrases – “will push you to your max, and beyond… you won’t believe how hard you can work out… Bursts of 110% effort…Then it’s straight into high gear… “.

This sounds like a nightmare to me!

Another definition of grit is to show tenseness, anger or determination as in grit one’s teeth.

Now this I can relate to and in fact, do often.

0425171240

But recently I publicly declared in our Crooked Line Studio newsletter a very big long-term-to-me goal for the month of May: I will post every day in May about one creative activity I found in a book I own (yes – I own that many art-related books).  I will reference the book and show photos of what I was inspired to create.  That’s 31 activities from 31 different books. 

That, my friends, is going to require me to find a lot of grit somewhere fast and use it every day!

Are you working on any long-term goals?

Thanks for stopping by,

Julie

Leave a Reply

